Home > God, Reflections > Thoughts on Church

Thoughts on Church

I’ve been in Dallas for about two and a half months now, and I still haven’t settled on a church. After going to Every Nation, Tallahassee for the last seven years and being so heavily involved, it’s definitely been interesting to attend so many different churches and have an outsider’s experience. It can be intimidating walking into a brand new church where you don’t know anyone, especially if it’s a big church.

Here’s what has blown my mind: at a lot of the churches I went to, I walked in, sat for 10 or 15 minutes before the service, attended the service, then walked out after it was over without a single person speaking to me. That is what happened at most of the churches I’ve visited. This has honestly been my biggest obstacle to finding a church. I’m not the most outgoing person in the world, and I am generally pretty uncomfortable in large groups of strangers. So the couple of churches where people have actually talked to me and made me feel welcome are the ones I’m going back to.

If you’re a member of a church and you see someone sitting by themselves on a Sunday morning, go say hi and invite them to sit with you or maybe to lunch with you and your family or friends. It’s really easy to just get caught up in your circle and not even notice a new person. I know I’ve been guilty of that a lot myself. But I’m definitely going to be more aware of it in the future!

Just one of my observations while I’m on the church hunt. I may share some others later.

Categories: God, Reflections
  1. Nicole Perkins
    May 31, 2010 at 10:47 am

    This is so true. I have made myself a unofficial greeter when it comes visitors at my church. I make sure to go shake their hand, hug them, ask their name, and try to engage them in conversation if possible. It does make a difference. When I lived in DC I found a church that I attended for a while. I only stopped attending because I moved downtown DC and the church was in MD and without a vehicle it was too far to travel. The other places I visited I did not stay because of various reasons but one factor was whether the people were friendly or not. I actually moved back to Tallahassee because I missed my church family and was dying spirtually without them. So I pray that you will find a good church home soon because it makes a difference.

  2. June 4, 2010 at 9:34 am

    Thanks for the word of inspiration, Jen! I definitely noticed the same thing after moving to DC. The church I ended up sticking with was the one where people talked to me the most. I’ll keep this in mind the next time I see someone new.

    Hope you’re doing amazing in Dallas!

  3. July 13, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    This blogpost came back into my mind on Friday night when we had our service. We’ve become a big, tight-knit “regular” group (we staff and the attendees), but I saw a girl I had only met once sitting by herself. Your words struck my heart again, so instead of sitting in the back on the floor per usual, I walked up to her and asked if I could sit by her. Thanks for sharing your perspective! =) I’ve been in that place before, but I don’t usually see the little aspects in the midst of the big picture, so thank you, friend!

  4. July 15, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    I’m so glad your in Dallas. I don’t know how to explain yet, but those words hit home more than you know. I’ve felt that way many times. God sure brought you to Dallas for a purpose girl.
    And you happened to meet the best tour guide… I know Dallas better than I know myself! lol

    Brooke

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

